Physical Activity Concepts

STEM Sports®’ curricula is based on: STEM education, using sports to facilitate curricula and physical activity. Along with a variety of STEM curricula kit options, we also offer physical activity concepts that can be implemented at home or school. 

Currently, we offer:

  • STEM Sports: Playing Card Fitness
  • Yoga Fitness 

STEM Sports: Playing Card Fitness: 

Playing Card Fitness is an easy to implement fitness regimen that only requires two things: an able body and a deck of cards! This can be done at home with family or in a classroom setting. 

Each participant picks a card and, depending on the suit and value on the card, everyone completes the exercise. The guidelines to decide rep count and exercise are:

  • 2-9 value 
  • Face = 11
  • Ace = 12 
  • Heart suit: Pushups 
  • Diamond suit: Jumping Jacks 
  • Club suit: Sit-ups
  • Spade suit: Squats   

Along with the physical benefits of Playing Card Fitness, this is also a great moment to introduce STEM concepts to your children or students. This is a perfect opportunity to introduce heart rate, caloric burn and calorie intake. 

STEM Sports® will be giving a zoom seminar on STEM Ecosystems Thursday, April 23rd at 1 p.m. ET/ 12 p.m. CT/ 11 a.m. MT/ 10 a.m. PT that will touch on how to incorporate STEM into physical activity during these unprecedented times.

Yoga Fitness: 

During the Covid-19 pandemic, stress levels may be higher than usual and people may be beginning to feel confined in their own homes. Yoga Fitness is compiled of four yoga poses meant to relieve unwanted anxiety. This can be done as many times per day as necessary.

While not too physically demanding, yoga has been proven to improve mental and physical health and increase flexibility. Taking care of yourself during this quarantine is essential. STEM Sports® created Yoga Fitness to give people access to a concept they need to continue to take care of themselves and come out of this difficult time a better version of themselves. 

Moving forward, we will continue to add physical fitness workouts to our website. To stay up to date or download our current offerings, go to this link!